ENGLISH

Towson Prize for Literature

The Alice and Franklin Cooley Endowment

Established in 1979 with a grant from Alice and Franklin Cooley, the Towson University Prize for Literature is awarded <u>annually</u> for a single book or book-length manuscript of fiction, poetry, drama or imaginative non-fiction by a Maryland writer. The \$1,000 prize is granted on the basis of literary and aesthetic excellence as determined by a panel of distinguished judges appointed by the university. The first award, made in the fall of 1980, went to novelist Anne Tyler.

Dr. Franklin Cooley was a noted medievalist and bibliophile. A native Marylander, he was associated with the University of Maryland and Johns Hopkins University, both as a student and a teacher, over a period of 40 years. He earned his bachelor's and doctoral degrees at Hopkins and his master's at Maryland. Except for a three-year period of teaching at Hopkins during the course of his doctoral studies, he spent most of his career specializing in medieval literature at Maryland, where he was named professor emeritus upon his retirement. Dr. Cooley died in 1989; Alice Cooley died in 1997.

Dr. Franklin and Mrs. Alice Cooley have been benefactors of Towson University since 1974. They established an endowment for the acquisition and care of books, journals and records in 20th century English and American poetry, and donated their extensive collection of modern poetry to the university's Cook Library. They also established an endowed scholarship for the fine arts and contributed generously to the College of Liberal Arts Endowment. The Towson University Prize for Literature is a gift designed to enhance the knowledge and appreciation of contemporary literature.

Rules

- 1. The prize shall be awarded on the basis of aesthetic and literary excellence for a single book or book-length manuscript of fiction, poetry, drama or imaginative non-fiction.
- 2. The work must have been published within the three years prior to the year of nomination or must be scheduled for publication within the year in which nominated. Self-published works will not be considered.
- 3. The author must have resided within the State of Maryland at least three years at the time of nomination and must be a resident of the State of Maryland at the time the prize is awarded. Verification of residence may be required.